Thursday, 25 December 2014

Facing the Music (Rosewood #1) by Andrea Laurence ~ #bookreview

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00H5SE2M2/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00H5SE2M2&linkCode=as2&tag=lirebr-20&linkId=XJOF2RYR6JDFAQME
Facing the Music (Rosewood #1)

by

In this sizzling and hilarious contemporary e-book romance, pop sensation Ivy Hudson returns to her small town to face her ex. Only trouble is, she made her Taylor-Swift-like career with the hit song “Size Matters”—and the football hero has had to live it down ever since.

Five years ago, high school sweethearts Ivy and Blake’s relationship imploded and both their lives were changed forever. Ivy became a rock star and Blake lost not only his dreams of a successful NFL career, but his reputation. Ivy’s angry song about their breakup, called “Size Matters,” hit the top of the charts and Blake became a national laughingstock. He’s salvaged his career and returned to Rosewood to be the high school football coach, regaining his status as town hero and leading the boys to the state championships.

When a tornado whips through town and destroys the high school gymnasium and stadium, a committee is formed to help rebuild and plan some charity fundraisers. Blake’s grandmother requests that Ivy return to Rosewood for the events. Forced back together for the good of their hometown and their careers, Ivy and Blake have no choice but to put aside their differences, stop running from their pasts, and finally face the music.

For fans of Kristen Proby and Colette Auclair, Facing the Music hits a perfect balance between small-town romance and big-time success. Follow Ivy and Blake as they fall back in love and figure out what does matter in the end…






Source: eARC for Honest Review Courtesy from Pocket Star via NetGalley
Genre: NA Contemporary Romance
Part 1 of a new series

My Facing the Music Review ...

I will admit I'm a sucker for rockstar books and I thought it would be refreshing to have the girl be the rockstar for once.  Now, it could have been refreshing but instead the book turned out to be mediocre and very predictable.  The highlights for me were the mischievous meddling grandma and the vindictive bitch who I wanted to throat punch through out.  How the hero and heroine honestly didn't see what she was capable of blows my mind.


Here is the crux of the book.... Ivy the struggling artist who gets burned by highschool sweetheart.  Turns that heartbreak into a song which gets her where she needs to be and is now a top charting popstar where she takes her heartbreak and channels it to music publically.  Remind you of anyone?


Blake the star quarterback who had it all but not a pining girlfriend by his side so he decides to open his horizons only to have it thrown in his face.  He not only lives with that regret but the humiliation of the aftermath of her painful song.

After both returning home, Blake after he loses his career with a knee blown out and for Ivy to recover after another public relationship gone bad.  She's home to lick her wounds and try to make up by doing charity to get the public to like her again.


Boy and girl reconnect by the meddling ways of grannie then all is well but some spiteful jealous bitch trying to destroy everything for it all to work out. Yada yada yada.  The idea was sweet but way to predictable to get you hooked completely into the book.

3 Predictable thumbs up!
thumbs upthumbs upthumbs up 
Lauren






  

No comments:

Post a Comment